College staff

Find contact details for staff in the College of Health & Biomedicine.

From January 2017 the College also includes Psychology and Social Work (formerly in the College of Arts).

College leadership

Professor Karen Dodd
PVC (Associate), Dean, College of Health & Biomedicine
+61 3 9919 2342
karen.dodd@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Peter Hartley
Deputy Dean
+61 3 9919 2944
peter.hartley@vu.edu.au
Dr Karen Lawrence
Director, Learning & Teaching (Operational)
+61 3 9919 2462
karen.lawrence@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Alan Hayes
Assistant Dean, Western Centre for Health Research and Education (WCHRE)
+61 3 8395 8227
+61 3 9919 4658
alan.hayes@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor John Price
Director, Research & Research Training
+61 3 9919 2046
john.price@vu.edu.au
Professor Maximilian de Courten
Director, Centre for Chronic Disease
+61 3 9919 2208
maximilian.decourten@vu.edu.au

Office of the Dean

Patrick Lambert
College Manager
+61 3 9919 4542
patrick.lambert@vu.edu.au
Su Brand
Executive Assistant
+61 3 9919 2195
su.brand@vu.edu.au
Mirjana Drvoderic
Senior Administrative Officer
+61 3 9919 7568
mirjana.drvoderic@vu.edu.au
Dr Angela Fones
Project Coordinator - Research
+61 3 9919 9277
angela.fones@vu.edu.au
Filomena Parente
Senior Administrative Officer
+61 3 9919 7070
filomena.parente@vu.edu.au
Patricia McQueen
Senior Administrative Officer
+61 3 9919 2004
patricia.mcqueen@vu.edu.au
Jo Xuereb
Administrative Officer
+61 3 9919 2226
jo.xuereb@vu.edu.au

Clinical learning office

Sarah Portelli
Clinical Placement Manager
+61 3 9919 2377
clinical.learning@vu.edu.au
Yesim Ali
Accreditation
+61 3 9919 9445
yesim.ali@vu.edu.au
Rose Corrente
Clinical Placement Officer
+61 3 9919 2708
paramedic.placements@vu.edu.au
Simran Gill
Clinical Placement Officer
+61 3 9919 2708
paramedic.placements@vu.edu.au
Gabriel Palacios
Clinical Placement Officer
+61 3 9919 2708
clinical.learning@vu.edu.au
Julie Talevski
Clinical Placement Officer
+61 3 9919 2708
clinical.learning@vu.edu.au

Clinics

Julie Barnett
Clinic Administrator
+61 3 9919 2516
julie.barnett@vu.edu.au
Nathan Pace
Clinic Administrator
+61 3 9919 1039
nathan.pace@vu.edu.au
Alex Radywonik
Clinical Coordinator
+61 3 9919 2516
alex.radywonik@vu.edu.au
Leanne Stocco
Clinic Project Officer
+61 3 9919 8257
leanne.stocco@vu.edu.au

 

Allied health

Acting Program Head
Professor Karen Dodd | +61 3 9919 2342 | karen.dodd@vu.edu.au

Deputy Program Head
Dr Catherine Kamphuis | +61 3 9919 2616 | catherine.kamphuis@vu.edu.au

Paramedicine

David Dawson
Course Chair, Bachelor of Health Science (Paramedic)
+61 3 9919 2793
david.dawson@vu.edu.au
Dr Catherine Kamphuis
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2616
catherine.kamphuis@vu.edu.au
Jacqueline LeBusque
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2251
jacqueline.lebusque@vu.edu.au
Lucinda Mayor
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2214
lucinda.mayor@vu.edu.au
Meagan McInnes
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2039
catherine.kamphuis@vu.edu.au
Adam Pilmore
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2616
adam.pilmore@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Gavin Smith +61 3 9919 4718
gavin.smith@vu.edu.au
Natasha Walta
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2946
natasha.walta@vu.edu.au

Public health

Dr Mimmie Ngum Chi
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2766
mimmie.ngumchi@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Craig Fry +61 3 9919 5315
craig.fry@vu.edu.au
Irene Lemish
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2246
irene.lemish@vu.edu.au
Dr Andrew Mathieson
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 5692
andrew.mathieson@vu.edu.au
Dianne Stevens
Course Chair & Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2929
dianne.stevens@vu.edu.au

Social work

Lesley Ervin
Field Education Coordinator
lesley.ervin@vu.edu.au
Dr John Fox
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4419
john.fox@vu.edu.au
Haidee Hicks
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 5780
haidee.hicks@vu.edu.au
Lisa Hodge
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 5751
lisa.hodge@vu.edu.au
Jody Laughton
Field Work Education Coordinator
+61 3 9919 4970
jody.laughton@vu.edu.au
Dr Doris Testa
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 5010
doris.testa@vu.edu.au
Shelley Turner
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4839
shelley.turner@vu.edu.au

Clinical services

Program Head
Professor Jenny Sharples | +61 3 9919 4448 | jenny.sharples@vu.edu.au

Deputy Program Head
Associate Professor Patrick McLaughlin | +61 3 9919 1131 | patrick.mclaughlin@vu.edu.au

Dermal science

Jennifer Byrne
Lecturer
+61 3 9602 4278
jennifer.byrne@vu.edu.au
Claire Coulstock
Academic Teaching Scholar
+61 3 9919 1368
claire.coulstock@vu.edu.au
Vera Koslova-Fu
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 1836
vera.koslova-fu@vu.edu.au
Catherine Mallia
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 1879
catherine.mallia@vu.edu.au
Stephanie Permal
Academic Teaching Scholar
+61 3 9919 1870
stephanie.permal@vu.edu.au
Frank Perri
Senior Lecturer
Course Chair: Bachelor of Dermal Sciences
+61 3 9919 7912
frank.perri@vu.edu.au
Claire Simpson
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 1828
claire.simpson@vu.edu.au

Osteopathic medicine

Dr Kate Blackmore
Clinical coordinator
+61 3 9919 1276
kate.blackmore@vu.edu.au
Tracy Denning
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 1158
tracy.denning@vu.edu.au
Dr Kylie Fitzgerald
Lecturer
Course Chair Bachelor of Science (Osteopathy)
+61 3 9919 1043
kylie.fitzgerald@vu.edu.au
Michael Fleischmann
Academic Teaching Scholar
+61 3 9919 1198
michael.fleischmann@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Gary Fryer +61 3 9919 1065
gary.fryer@vu.edu.au
Dr Edwina Gotz
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 1149
edwina.gotz@vu.edu.au
Navine Haworth
Clinical Coordinator
+61 9919 1329
navine.haworth@vu.edu.au
Dr Maja Husaric
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 1590
maja.husaric@vu.edu.au
Dr Jim Kiatos
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 1191
jim.kiatos@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Patrick McLaughlin
Deputy Program Head, Clinical Services
+61 3 9919 1131
patrick.mclaughlin@vu.edu.au
Dr Jane Mulcahy
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 1140
jane.mulcahy@vu.edu.au
Brett Vaughan
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 1210
brett.vaughan@vu.edu.au
Douglas Wong
Lecturer and Course Chair, Master of Health Science
+61 3 9919 1294
douglas.wong@vu.edu.au

Psychology

Dr Michelle Ball
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2536
michelle.ball@vu.edu.au
Dr Laurie Chapin
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2355
laurie.chapin@vu.edu.au
Dr Carolyn Deans
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2334
carolyn.deans@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Paul Duckett
 
+61 3 9919 2384
paul.duckett@vu.edu.au
Dr Sally-Ann Free
Placement Officer
+61 3 9919 4096
sally-ann.free@vu.edu.au
Dr Peter Gill
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 5641
peter.gill@vu.edu.au
Glen Hosking
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2266
glen.hosking@vu.edu.au
Dr Warwick Hosking
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2620
warwick.hosking@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Gavin Ivey
 
+61 3 9919 2138
gavin.ivey@vu.edu.au
Andrew Jago
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 5225
andrew.jago@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Wally Karnilowicz
Lecturer
Social Research Methods Coordinator
+61 3 9919 4047
wally.karnilowicz@vu.edu.au
Dr Siân McLean
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 5867
sian.mclean@vu.edu.au
Dr Romana Morda
Lecturer
Psychology Coordinator
+61 3 9919 5223
romana.morda@vu.edu.au
Dianne Niemczyk
Clinic Reception
+61 3 9919 2349
dianne.niemczyk@vu.edu.au
Dr Keis Ohtsuka
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 5098
keis.ohtsuka@vu.edu.au
Sue Oliver
Field Education Coordinator
+61 3 9919 2221
sue.oliver@vu.edu.au
Dr Alexia Pavlis
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2559
alexia.pavlis@vu.edu.au
Professor Jenny Sharples
Lecturer
Program Head, Clinical Services
+61 3 9919 4448
jenny.sharples@vu.edu.au
Dr Kim Shearson
Lecturer
Interpersonal & Organisational Psychology
+61 3 9919 2784
kim.shearson@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Christopher Sonn +61 3 9919 5226
christopher.sonn@vu.edu.au
Emra Suleyman
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2397
emra.suleyman@vu.edu.au
Dr Julie Van Den Eynde
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 5221
julie.vandeneynde@vu.edu.au
Rebecca Youl
Clinical Placement Officer
+61 3 9919 9242
rebecca.youl@vu.edu.au

Medical Sciences

Program Head
Professor Andrew McAinch | +61 3 9919 2019 | andrew.mcainch@vu.edu.au

Biomedical science

Dr Craig A. Goodman
Senior Lecturer
+61 8395 8229
craig.goodman@vu.edu.au
Dr Samy Sakkal
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2641
samy.sakkal@vu.edu.au
Philip Seymour
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2579
phil.seymour@vu.edu.au
Dr Xiao Su
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2019
xiao.su@vu.edu.au
Dr Anthony Zulli
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2768
anthony.zulli@vu.edu.au

Food, nutrition & dietetics

Osaana Donkor
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 8059
osaana.donkor@vu.edu.au
Genevieve Johnston
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2044
genevieve.johnston@vu.edu.au
Jacqui Krassie
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2437
jacqui.krassie@vu.edu.au
Professor Andrew McAinch
Program Head, Medical Sciences & Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2019
andrew.mcainch@vu.edu.au
Dr Helen McCarthy
Course Chair, Bachelor of Applied Science
+61 3 9919 2390
helen.mccarthy1@vu.edu.au
Dr Vijay Mishra
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 8130
vijay.mishra@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Michael Mathai
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2211
michael.mathai@vu.edu.au
Judith Myers
Lecturer (Nutrition and Food)
+61 3 9919 2102
judith.myers@vu.edu.au
Professor Todor Vasiljevic
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 8062
todor.vasiljevic@vu.edu.au

Medical physiology

Dr Ronnie Blazev
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4594
ronnie.blazev@vu.edu.au
Paul Conroy
Academic Teaching Scholar
+61 3 9919 7024
paul.conroy@vu.edu.au
William Deasy
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2076
william.deasy@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Alan Hayes
Assistant Dean
Western Centre for Health Research and Education (WCHRE)
Course Chair Bachelor of Science (Honours) (Nutrition & Food Sciences) & Bachelor of Science (Honours) (Biomedical Sciences)
+61 3 8395 8227
+61 3 9919 4658
alan.hayes@vu.edu.au
Dr Kulmira Nurgali
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 8395 8223
+61 457 212 886
kulmira.nurgali@vu.edu.au
Dr Emma Rybalka
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4298
emma.rybalka@vu.edu.au
Dr Puspha Sinnayah
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2262
puspha.sinnayah@vu.edu.au
Dr Christos Stathis
Course Chair, Bachelor of Biomedical & Exercise Science
+61 3 9919 4293
+61 3 9919 2828
christos.stathis@vu.edu.au
Melanie Sullivan-Gunn
Academic Teaching Scholar
+61 3 9919 2992
melanie.sullivan@vu.edu.au
Dr Kathy Tangalakis
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2618
kathy.tangalakis@vu.edu.au
Dr Elizabeth Verghese
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2557
elizabeth.verghese@vu.edu.au

Nursing & midwifery

Program Head
Professor Sharon Andrew | +61 3 9919 2090 | sharon.andrew@vu.edu.au

Midwifery & women's health

Professor Mary Carolan
Professor
+61 3 9919 2585
mary.carolan@vu.edu.au
Karina Ireland
Course Chair, Bachelor of Midwifery & Bachelor of Nursing
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2104
karina.ireland@vu.edu.au
Gina Kruger
Senior Lecturer/Unit Convenor Undergraduate Midwifery
+61 3 9919 2697
gina.kruger@vu.edu.au
Felicity Lawton
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2149
felicity.lawton@vu.edu.au
Melissa Mazzarino
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2024
melissa.mazzarino@vu.edu.au

Nursing

Dr Gayelene Boardman
Course Chair, Bachelor of Nursing
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2396
gayelene.boardman@vu.edu.au
Leah Bradley
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2100
leah.bradley@vu.edu.au
Jo Finn
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2164
joanne.finn@vu.edu.au
Jillian Goullet
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2348
jillian.williams@vu.edu.au
Dorota Frankowska
Lecturer
Coordinator Year 2
+61 3 9919 2820
dorota.frankowska@vu.edu.au
Assoc Professor Liza Heslop +61 3 9919 2252
+61 3 8395 8142
liza.heslop@vu.edu.au
Karen Livesay
Senior Lecturer (Acute Care)
+61 3 9919 2123
karen.livesay@vu.edu.au
Dr Lucy Lu
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2495
l.lu@vu.edu.au
Professor Terence McCann
Professor
+61 3 9919 2325
terence.mccann@vu.edu.au
Rebecca Millar
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2209
rebecca.millar@vu.edu.au
Dr Clive Miller
Lecturer
Coordinator Year 3
+61 3 9919 2387
clive.miller@vu.edu.au
Nicole Orwin
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2061
nichole.orwin@vu.edu.au
Susan Philip
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2201
susan.philip@vu.edu.au
Jo-Anne Rihs
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2541
jo-anne.rihs@vu.edu.au
Dr Ruby Walter
Lecturer
Coordinator Year 1
+61 3 9919 2150
ruby.walter@vu.edu.au

Research

Centre for Chronic Disease

Director
Professor Maximilian de Courten | +61 3 8395 8141 | maximilian.decourten@vu.edu.au

Professor Vasso Apostolopoulos +61 3 9919 2025
vasso.apostolopoulos@vu.edu.au
Dr Angela Fones
Project Coordinator - Research
+61 3 9919 9277
angela.fones@vu.edu.au
Dr Monica Prakash
Research Officer
monica.prakash@vu.edu.au
Dr Sarah Fraser
Research Officer
sarah.fraser@vu.edu.au

Postdoctoral appointments

Dr Giovanni Zurzolo
Postdoctoral Research Officer
giovanni.zurzolo@vu.edu.au
Dr Muditha Dissanayake
Research Officer
muditha.dissanayake@vu.edu.au

Emeritus, honorary, adjunct & visiting appointments

Dr Jocelyn Angus
Honorary Associate Professor
jocelyn.angus@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor John Ashton
Adjunct Professor
john.ashton@vu.edu.au
Professor Gregory Blatch
Honorary Professor
gregory.blatch@vu.edu.au
Professor Dorothy Bruck
Emeritus Professor
dorothy.bruck@vu.edu.au
Harry Bryce
Adjunct Fellow
harry.bryce@vu.edu.au
Dr Patricia Burton
Honorary Fellow
trish.burton@vu.edu.au
Dr Henry Butt
Adjunct Associate Professor
henry.butt@vu.edu.au
Dr Katharine Cantwell
Adjunct Associate Professor
katharine.cantwell@vu.edu.au
Dr Matt Cooke
Honorary Fellow
matt.cooke@vu.edu.au
Dr Crispin Dass
Adjunct Professor
crispin.dass@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Kerry Dickson
Adjunct Associate Professor
kerry.dickson@vu.edu.au
Dr Maria Duggan
Adjunct Associate Professor
maria.duggan1@vu.edu.au
Dr Ruth Dunkin
Adjunct Professor
ruth.dunkin@vu.edu.au
Caroline Fitzwarryne
Adjunct Associate Professor
caroline.fitzwarryne@vu.edu.au
Professor Adrian Fisher
Emeritus Professor
adrian.fisher@vu.edu.au
Professor Roger Gabb
Emeritus Professor
roger.gabb@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Sandra Grace
Visiting Professor
asprsandra.grace@vu.edu.au
Dr Anne Graham
Honorary Fellow
anne.graham@vu.edu.au
Heather Gridley
Honorary Fellow

heather.gridley@vu.edu.au

Dr Karen Hallam
Honorary Fellow
karen.hallam@vu.edu.au
Professor Thom Huppertz
Adjunct Professor
thom.huppertz@vu.edu.au
Dr Paul Jennings
Adjunct Professor
pa.jennings@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Debra Kerr
Adjunct Associate Professor
deb.kerr@vu.edu.au
Varsha Lal
Honorary Fellow
varsha.lal@vu.edu.au
Professor Ioannis Matsoukas
Adjunct Professor
ioannis.matsoukas@vu.edu.au
Professor Geoffrey Mccoll
Adjunct Professor
geoffrey.mccoll@vu.edu.au
Dr Lynne Millar
Adjunct Fellow
lynne.millar@vu.edu.au
Dr Keri Moore
Visiting Fellow
 
Professor Carolyn Noble
Emeritus Professor
carolyn.noble@vu.edu.au
Dr Daniel Ooi
Honorary Fellow
+61 3 9919 2200
daniel.ooi@vu.edu.au
Professor Geoff Pietersz
Adjunct Professor
geoff.pietersz@vu.edu.au
Dr Ahmed Rahman
Honorary Fellow
ahmed.rahman@vu.edu.au
Professor Linda Rosenman
Adjunct Professor
linda.rosenman@vu.edu.au
Dr Deanne Skelly
Honorary Fellow
deanne.skelly@vu.edu.au
Professor Lily Stojanovska
Emeritus Professor
lily.stojanovska@vu.edu.au
Wayne Street
Adjunct Professor
wayne.street@vu.edu.au
Philip Tehan
Adjunct Associate Professor
philip.tehan@vu.edu.au
Dr Oliver Thomson
Visiting Fellow
oliver.thomson@vu.edu.au
Steve Vogel
Visiting Associate Professor
steven.vogel@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Tony Walker
Adjunct Associate Professor
tony.walker@vu.edu.au
Dr Guoqin Xu
Visiting Fellow
 
Professor Paul Zimmet
Adjunct Professor
paul.zimmet@vu.edu.au
Maryam Zoghi
Visiting Fellow
maryam.zoghi@vu.edu.au

Technical services

Danijela Bonfiglio
Technician
+61 3 9919 2381
danijela.bonfiglio@vu.edu.au
Jing Cao
Technician

jing.cao@vu.edu.au
Jeanette Hirst
Technical Manager
+61 3 9919 2033
jeanette.hirst@vu.edu.au
Anthony La Terra
Laboratory Technician
+61 3 9919 9294
anthony.laterra@vu.edu.au
Lillian Nobile
Senior Technical Officer
+61 3 9919 2488
lillian.nobile@vu.edu.au
Nikola Popovik
Technical manager
+61 3 9919 2215
nikola.popovik@vu.edu.au
Sal Salanitri
Technical Officer
+61 3 9919 2275
sal.salanitri@vu.edu.au
Zheng Tao
Technician
+61 3 9919 2281
zheng.tao@vu.edu.au
Viki Veljanovski
Technical Manager
+61 3 9919 1253
viki.veljanovski@vu.edu.au
Senani Weerasinghe
Technician
+61 3 9919 2281
senani.weerasinghe@vu.edu.au
Min Zhang
Technician
+61 3 9919 2598
min.zhang@vu.edu.au