College staff

Find contact details for staff in the College of Health & Biomedicine.

The College also includes Psychology and Social Work (formerly in the College of Arts).

College leadership

Professor Karen Dodd
Vice President, Health, Sport & Active Living
Dean, College of Health & Biomedicine
+61 3 9919 2342
email: karen.dodd@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Alan Hayes
Assistant Dean, Western Centre for Health Research and Education (WCHRE)
+61 3 9919 4658
email: alan.hayes@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Patrick McLaughlin
Director of Learning & Teaching
+61 3 9919 1131
email: patrick.mclaughlin@vu.edu.au

Office of the Dean

Patrick Lambert
College Manager
+61 3 9919 4542
email: patrick.lambert@vu.edu.au
Su Brand
Executive Assistant to the Dean
+61 3 9919 2195
email: su.brand@vu.edu.au
Be Quach
Senior Administrative Officer
+61 3 9919 4473
email: be.quach@vu.edu.au
Mirjana Drvoderic
Senior Administrative Officer
+61 3 9919 7658
email: mirjana.drvoderic@vu.edu.au
Patricia McQueen
Senior Administrative Officer
+61 3 9919 2004
email: patricia.mcqueen@vu.edu.au
Jo Xuereb
Administrative Officer
+61 3 9919 2226
email: jo.xuereb@vu.edu.au

Course & unit administrators

Chantal Boorman
St Albans campus
email: cua.cohb@vu.edu.au
Dominic Angelone
St Albans campus
email: cua.cohb@vu.edu.au
Natasha Dzuteska
Footscray Park Campus
email: cua.cohb@vu.edu.au
Manira Osman
City Flinders Lane/City Queen Campus
email: cua.cohb@vu.edu.au

Clinical learning office

Sarah Portelli
Clinical Placement Manager
+61 3 9919 2377
email: clinical.learning@vu.edu.au
Yesim Ali
Accreditation
+61 3 9919 9445
email: yesim.ali@vu.edu.au
Rosa Corrente
Clinical Placement Officer
+61 3 9919 2708
email: paramedic.placements@vu.edu.au
Simran Gill
Clinical Placement Officer
+61 3 9919 2708
email: paramedic.placements@vu.edu.au
Marie Fisicaro
Administrator, Clinical Placements
+61 3 9919 2306
email: marie.fisicaro@vu.edu.au
Gabriel Palacios
Clinical Placement Officer
+61 3 9919 2708
email: clinical.learning@vu.edu.au
Siobhan Warhurst
Clinical Placement Officer
+61 3 9919 2708
email: clinical.learning@vu.edu.au

Clinics

Kim Sharma
Clinic Administrator
+61 3 9919 1421
email: kim.sharma@vu.edu.au
Alex Radywonik
Clinical Coordinator
+61 3 9919 2516
email: alex.radywonik@vu.edu.au
Leanne Stocco
Clinic Project Officer
+61 3 9919 8257
email: leanne.stocco@vu.edu.au

Allied health

Program Head: Dr Catherine Kamphuis | +61 3 9919 2616 | catherine.kamphuis@vu.edu.au

Paramedicine

John Cowell
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2341
email: john.cowell@vu.edu.au
David Dawson
Course Chair, Bachelor of Health Science (Paramedic) (Conversion degree)
+61 3 9919 2793
email: david.dawson@vu.edu.au
Rebecca Houli
Lecturer
Course Chair, Clinical
+613 9919 2450
email: rebecca.houli@vu.edu.au
Dr Catherine Kamphuis
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2616
email: catherine.kamphuis@vu.edu.au
Jacqueline LeBusque
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2251
email: jacqueline.lebusque@vu.edu.au
Meagan McInnes
Lecturer
First Year College
+61 3 9919 2170
email: meagan.mcinnes@vu.edu.au
Michael Moldoveanu
Academic Teaching Scholar
First Year College
+61 3 9919 2139
email: michael.moldoveanu@vu.edu.au
Paul Bragg
Academic Teaching Scholar
+61 3 9919 2818
email: Paul.Bragg@vu.edu.au
Adam Pilmore
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2616
email: adam.pilmore@vu.edu.au

Associate Professor Gavin Smith
Course chair, Bachelor of Health Science (Paramedic)

+61 3 9919 4718
email: gavin.smith@vu.edu.au
Natasha Walta
Lecturer
First Year College
+61 3 9919 2946
email: natasha.walta@vu.edu.au

Public health

Professor Maximilian de Courten
Unit Convenor
+61399192208
email: maxilian.decourten@vu.edu.au
Irene Lemish
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2246
email: irene.lemish@vu.edu.au
Dianne Stevens
Course Chair & Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2929
email: dianne.stevens@vu.edu.au

Social work

Lesley Ervin
Field Education Coordinator
lesley.ervin@vu.edu.au
Shelley Hewson
Academic Teaching Scholar
+61 3 9919 8599
email: shelley.hewson@vu.edu.au
Dr Lisa Hodge
Lecturer
Course Chair: Bachelor of Social Work, and Social Work (Honours)
+61 3 9919 5751
email: lisa.hodge@vu.edu.au
Dr Tina Kostecki
Academic Lead in Field Education
Lecturer
+613 9919 5969
email: tina.kostecki@vu.edu.au
Jody Laughton
Field Work Education Coordinator
+61 3 9919 4970
email: jody.laughton@vu.edu.au
Louise Last
Academic Teaching Scholar
First Year College
+613 9919 5810
email: louise.last@vu.edu.au
Dr Wendy Rollins
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 5737
email: wendy.rollins@vu.edu.au
Ebony Sharp
Academic Teaching Scholar
+61 3 9919 5963
email: ebony.sharp@vu.edu.au
Andrea Szendroe
Academic Teaching Scholar
First Year College
email: andrea.szendroe@vu.edu.au
Dr Doris Testa
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 5010
email: doris.testa@vu.edu.au
Dr Annie Venville
Associate Professor and Head of Social Work
+61 3 9919 4571
email: annie.venville@vu.edu.au

Clinical services

Program Head: Professor Jenny Sharples | +61 3 9919 4448 | jenny.sharples@vu.edu.au

Dermal science

Jennifer Byrne
Lecturer
+61 3 9602 4278
email: jennifer.byrne@vu.edu.au
Claire Coulstock
Academic Teaching Scholar
+61 3 9919 1368
email: claire.coulstock@vu.edu.au
Vera Koslova-Fu
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 1836
email: vera.koslova-fu@vu.edu.au
Kathy Lee
Lecturer
+61 3 99197814
email: Kathy.Lee@vu.edu.au
Catherine Mallia
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 1879
email: catherine.mallia@vu.edu.au
Stephanie Permal
Academic Teaching Scholar
+61 3 9919 1870
email: stephanie.permal@vu.edu.au
Frank Perri
Senior Lecturer
Course Chair: Bachelor of Dermal Sciences
+61 3 9919 7912
email: frank.perri@vu.edu.au
Samantha Reeve
Academic Teaching Scholar
+61 3 9919 1806
email: samantha.reeve@vu.edu.au
Claire Simpson
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 1828
email: claire.simpson@vu.edu.au

Osteopathic medicine

Dr Kate Blackmore
Clinical coordinator
+61 3 9919 1276
email: kate.blackmore@vu.edu.au
Eressea Cross
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 1509
email: eressea.cross@vu.edu.au
Dr Kylie Fitzgerald
Lecturer
Course Chair Bachelor of Science (Osteopathy)
+61 3 9919 1043
email: kylie.fitzgerald@vu.edu.au
Michael Fleischmann
Academic Teaching Scholar
+61 3 9919 1198
email: michael.fleischmann@vu.edu.au

Associate Professor Gary Fryer
Course Chair, Master of Health Sciences (Osteopathy)

+61 3 9919 1065
email: gary.fryer@vu.edu.au
Dr Edwina Gotz
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 1149
email: edwina.gotz@vu.edu.au
Navine Haworth
Clinical Coordinator
+61 9919 1329
email: navine.haworth@vu.edu.au
Melanie Hunt
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4038
email: melanie.hunt@vu.edu.au
Dr Jim Kiatos
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 1191
email: jim.kiatos@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Patrick McLaughlin
Deputy Program Head, Clinical Services
+61 3 9919 1131
email: patrick.mclaughlin@vu.edu.au
Dr Jane Mulcahy
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 1140
email: jane.mulcahy@vu.edu.au
Douglas Wong
Lecturer and Course Chair, Master of Health Science
+61 3 9919 1294
email: douglas.wong@vu.edu.au

Psychology

Dr Michelle Ball
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2536
email: michelle.ball@vu.edu.au
Jessica Burlak
Academic Teaching Scholar, First Year College
+61 3 9919 5890
email: jessica.burlak@vu.edu.au
Dr Laurie Chapin
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2355
email: laurie.chapin@vu.edu.au
Kara Dadswell
Academic Teaching Scholar, First Year College
+61 3 9919 5807
email: kara.dadswell@vu.edu.au
Dr Carolyn Deans
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2334
email: carolyn.deans@vu.edu.au
Dr Sally-Ann Free
Fieldwork Placement Officer
+61 3 9919 4096
email: sally-ann.free@vu.edu.au
Dr Peter Gill
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 5641
email: peter.gill@vu.edu.au
Dr Glen Hosking
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2266
email: glen.hosking@vu.edu.au
Dr Warwick Hosking
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2620
email: warwick.hosking@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Gavin Ivey
 
+61 3 9919 2138
email: gavin.ivey@vu.edu.au
Andrew Jago
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 5225
email: andrew.jago@vu.edu.au
Kate Kelly
Academic Teaching Scholar, First Year College
+61 3 9919 5888
email: kate.kelly@vu.edu.au
Dr Siân McLean
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 5867
email: sian.mclean@vu.edu.au
Dr Robyn Moffitt
Lecturer
email: robyn.moffitt@vu.edu.au
Dr Romana Morda
Senior Lecturer
Course Coordinator
+61 3 9919 5223
email: romana.morda@vu.edu.au
Monika Naslund
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 8739
email: monika.naslund@vu.edu.au
Dianne Niemczyk
Clinic Reception
+61 3 9919 2349
email: dianne.niemczyk@vu.edu.au
Dr Keis Ohtsuka
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 5098
email: keis.ohtsuka@vu.edu.au
Sue Oliver
Field Education Coordinator
+61 3 9919 2221
email: sue.oliver@vu.edu.au
Dr Bert Oraison
Lecturer Psychology, First Year College
+61 3 9919 5172
email: bert.oraison@vu.edu.au
Professor Alexandra Parker
Professorial Research Fellow, Institute for Health & Sport (IHES)
+61 3 9919 5874
email: alexandra.parker@vu.edu.au
Dr Alexia Pavlis
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2559
email: alexia.pavlis@vu.edu.au
Dr Amy Quayle
Academic Teaching Scholar, First Year College
+61 3 9919 5892
email: amy.quayle@vu.edu.au
Professor Jenny Sharples
Head of Psychology
Program Head, Clinical Services
+61 3 9919 4448
email: jenny.sharples@vu.edu.au
Dr Kim Shearson
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2784
email: kim.shearson@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Christopher Sonn +61 3 9919 5226
email: christopher.sonn@vu.edu.au
Dr Emra Suleyman
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2397
email: emra.suleyman@vu.edu.au
Dr Julie Van Den Eynde
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 5221
email: julie.vandeneynde@vu.edu.au

Medical Sciences

Program Head: Professor Andrew McAinch | +61 3 9919 2019 | andrew.mcainch@vu.edu.au

Biomedicine

Dr Ronnie Blazev
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 4594
email: ronnie.blazev@vu.edu.au
Paul Conroy
Academic Teaching Scholar
+61 3 9919 7024
email: paul.conroy@vu.edu.au
Dr Craig A. Goodman
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 8395 8229
email: craig.goodman@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Alan Hayes
Assistant Dean,Western Centre for Health Research and Education (WCHRE)
Course Chair Bachelor of Science (Honours) (Nutrition & Food Sciences) / (Biomedical Sciences)
+61 3 8395 8227
+61 3 9919 4658
email: alan.hayes@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Kulmira Nurgali
Lecturer
+61 3 8395 8223
email: kulmira.nurgali@vu.edu.au
Dr Emma Rybalka
Lecturer
+61 3 8395 8226
email: emma.rybalka@vu.edu.au
Dr Samy Sakkal
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2641
email: samy.sakkal@vu.edu.au
Mr Philip Seymour
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2579
email: phil.seymour@vu.edu.au
Dr Puspha Sinnayah
Senior Lecturer, First Year College
+61 3 9919 2262
email: puspha.sinnayah@vu.edu.au
Dr Christos Stathis
Bachelor of Biomedical & Exercise Science (HBES) and Bachelor of Biomedicine (HBBM)
+61 3 9919 4293
+61 3 9919 2828
email: christos.stathis@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Xiao Su
Deputy Head of Program, Medical Sciences Course Chair, Bachelor of Biomedical Sciences (HBBS)
+61 3 9919 2318
email: xiao.su@vu.edu.au
Dr Kathy Tangalakis
Associate Professor, First Year College
+61 3 9919 2618
email: kathy.tangalakis@vu.edu.au
Dr Elizabeth Verghese
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2557
email: elizabeth.verghese@vu.edu.au
Dr Xu (Sean) Yan
Lecturer, Course Chair, Bachelor of Biomedical Sciences (HBBS)
+61 3 9919 4024
email: sean.yan@vu.edu.au
Dr Anthony Zulli
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2768
email: anthony.zulli@vu.edu.au

Food, nutrition & dietetics

Osaana Donkor
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 8059
email: osaana.donkor@vu.edu.au
Professor Andrew McAinch
Program Head, Medical Sciences & Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2019
email: andrew.mcainch@vu.edu.au
Dr Helen McCarthy
Course Chair, Bachelor of Applied Science
+61 3 9919 2390
email: helen.mccarthy1@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Michael Mathai
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2211
email: michael.mathai@vu.edu.au
Professor Todor Vasiljevic
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 8062
email: todor.vasiljevic@vu.edu.au

Nursing & midwifery

Program Head: Professor Sharon Andrew | +61 3 9919 2090 | sharon.andrew@vu.edu.au

Nursing & midwifery dual degree

Professor Mary Carolan
Professor
+61 3 9919 2585
email: mary.carolan@vu.edu.au
Karina Ireland
Course Chair, Bachelor of Midwifery & Bachelor of Nursing, dual degree
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2104
email: karina.ireland@vu.edu.au
Dr Gina Kruger
Senior Lecturer/Unit Convenor Undergraduate Midwifery
+61 3 9919 2697
email: gina.kruger@vu.edu.au
Sharon Mumford
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2497
email: sharon.mumford@vu.edu.au

Nursing

Dr Gayelene Boardman
Course Chair, Bachelor of Nursing
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2396
email: gayelene.boardman@vu.edu.au
Leah Bradley
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2100 
email: leah.bradley@vu.edu.au

Clare Cole

Lecturer

+61 3 9919 2298

Clare.Cole@vu.edu.au

Jillian Goullet
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2348
email: jillian.williams@vu.edu.au
Dorota Frankowska
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2820
email: dorota.frankowska@vu.edu.au
Dr Liza Heslop +61 3 9919 2252
+61 3 8395 8142
email: liza.heslop@vu.edu.au
Dr Susan Kidd
Senior Lecturer (Acute Care)
+61 3 9919 2230
email: susan.kidd@vu.edu.au
Dr Lucy Lu
Senior Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2495
email: l.lu@vu.edu.au
Professor Terence McCann
Professor
+61 3 9919 2325
email: terence.mccann@vu.edu.au
Susan Philip
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2201
email: susan.philip@vu.edu.au
Jo-Anne Rihs
Lecturer
+61 3 9919 2541
email: jo-anne.rihs@vu.edu.au

Technical services

Danijela Bonfiglio
Technician
+61 3 9919 2381
email: danijela.bonfiglio@vu.edu.au
Jing Cao
Technician
email: jing.cao@vu.edu.au
Jeanette Hirst
Technical Manager
+61 3 9919 2033
email: jeanette.hirst@vu.edu.au
Anthony La Terra
Laboratory Technician
+61 3 9919 9294
email: anthony.laterra@vu.edu.au
Lillian Nobile
Senior Technical Officer
+61 3 9919 2488
email: lillian.nobile@vu.edu.au
Nikola Popovik
Technical manager
+61 3 9919 2215
email: nikola.popovik@vu.edu.au
Sal Salanitri
Technical Officer
+61 3 9919 2275
email: sal.salanitri@vu.edu.au
Zheng Tao
Technician
+61 3 9919 2281
email: zheng.tao@vu.edu.au
Viki Veljanovski
Technical Manager
+61 3 9919 1253 
email: viki.veljanovski@vu.edu.au
Senani Weerasinghe
Technician
+61 3 9919 2281
email: senani.weerasinghe@vu.edu.au
Min Zhang
Technician
+61 3 9919 2598
email: min.zhang@vu.edu.au