Research

Applied Mathematics & Statistics

The Applied Mathematics research group specialises in applied mathematics, mathematical inequalities, networked control systems, and approximation and bounds in economics, and general applications across the engineering and science disciplines.

Areas of research

Our main focus is on interdisciplinary research and application of mathematics, statistics and operational research for solving problems. This includes:

  • complex dynamical systems modelling and analysis
  • reliable control systems design, robustness analysis, signal processing
  • mathematical inequalities and their applications in numerical analysis
  • information theory & coding
  • population dynamics
  • special functions theory and probability and statistics.

Research projects

  • Networked control systems with large time-delay interval.
  • Accurate numerical approximations and bounds in economics, statistics and general applications across the Engineering and Science disciplines.
  • State filtering and parameter identification for nonlinear polynomial systems.
  • Approximation and bounds in a variety of areas including risk/ruin problems, actuarial science and populations.

Our research group has projects linked with:

  • Logistics and Supply Chain Management Industries
  • National ICT Australia on Margin Statistics of High Throughput Sequencing (AMSI Industry Internship Program)

Our researchers

Staff
Name Phone and email
Professor Silvestru Dragomir
Leader
+61 3 9919 4437
sever.dragomir@vu.edu.au
Professor Peng Shi
Deputy Leader
+61 3 9919 6273
peng.shi@vu.edu.au
Anthony Doggett

+61 3 9919 4689
anthony.doggett@vu.edu.au
Dr Fuchun Huang

+61 3 9919 4431
fuchun.huang@vu.edu.au
Dr Lutfar Khan +61 3 9919 4687
lutfar.khan@vu.edu.au
Dr Alasdair McAndrew +61 3 9919 4344
alasdair.mcandrew@vu.edu.au
Associate Professor Anthony Sofo +61 3 9919 4869
anthony.sofo@vu.edu.au
Dr Gabriele Sorrentino +61 3 9919 5227
gabriele.sorrentino@vu.edu.au
Dr Jakub Szajman +61 3 9919 4286
jakub.szajman@vu.edu.au
External Collaborators  
Dr Eder Kikianty University of the Witwatersrand
Johannesburg, South Africa
Professor Pietro Cerone Honorary Professor
LaTrobe University
p.cerone@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Neil Barnett +61 3 9919 4693
neil.barnett@vu.edu.au

Our research students

Research undertaken by our current postgraduate students.

Student Thesis title
Alawiah Ibrahim Some Inequalities Concerning Power Series and Their Interaction with Univalent Functions Theory
Andrew Downard Measuring and Predicting Supply Chain Dyadic Relationship Success
Vijayakumar Sangam Strategic Outsourcing of Supply Chain: The India Model

We also pride ourselves with recent postgraduate completions of our research students.

Student Thesis title
Dr George Hanna Cubature Rules From A Generalized Taylor Perspective
Dr Gabriele Sorrentino Option Pricing in a Path Integral Framework
Dr Eder Kikianty Hermite-Hadamard Inequality in the Geometry of Banach Spaces
Dr Carsten Sengpiehl Towards the development of a holistic planning framework for a Logistics City-Cluster: A multinational modified Delphi Study

Contact us

Professor Silvestru Dragomir
Group Leader, Applied Mathematics Research Group
Phone: +61 3 9919 4437
Email: sever.dragomir@vu.edu.au

Professor Peng Shi
Deputy Group Leader
Phone: +61 3 9919 6273
Email: peng.shi@vu.edu.au